The Fourth Estate’s Seth Bokpe wins best GJA reporter for Democracy and Good Governance



A senior reporter with The Fourth Estate, Seth J. Bokpe, has been adjudged the best reporter on Democracy and Good Governance at the 26th edition of the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) media awards.

Seth was among 25 top journalists awarded by the GJA for their outstanding work in journalism in 2021.

His winning story tested the Right to Information Law and its implementation one year after it came into effect.

The Fourth Estate wrote 36 RTI requests to 33 state institutions between March and July 2021 and found that that nearly 60% of the applications The Fourth Estate sent out were refused access to the information sought.

Eight institutions responded within 14 days and granted access to information whilst eleven other institutions had to be hurled to the RTI commission for their refusal to provide the information.

The story pushed state institutions to be more receptive and willing to provide information under the RTI law. It also brought to the limelight, the important role played by the RTI commission to ensure that citizens are not denied access to information.

A senior reporter with The Fourth Estate, Seth J. Bokpe, has been adjudged the best reporter on Democracy and Good Governance at the 26th edition of the GJA awards.
Seth J Bokpe

Motivated to do more

Responding to congratulatory messages from well-wishers, Seth Bokpe remarked: “This award means a lot to me because it’s the first outside the wall of the Graphic Communications Group Ltd where I spent 10 years of my journalism career.”

“I’m motivated to do more to hold our duty bearers accountable and also justify the MFWA’s investment in the kinds of stories we do to protect the public purse, give voice to the muted voices as well as project underreported issues,” he added.

Seth has won several awards for his outstanding journalism career spanning 12 years. His latest award-winning story was part of 137 entries received by the GJA this year.

The GJA awards ceremony

Portia Garbor of Media Generale (TV3) was adjudged the overall 2021 Journalist of the Year.  She was also adjudged the Best Television News reporter and Health Journalist of the Year.

Manuel Koranteng also of the Multimedia Group was adjudged the GJA/Komla Dumor Most Promising Journalist of the Year whilst Francisca Enchill, an investigative journalist with the Corruption Watch Project, in Ghana was adjudged Female Journalist of the Year.

The programme was held under the theme, “Walking The Path Towards Ghana’s Economic Recovery: The Role of The Media.”

Below is the list of winners of the GJA Awards:

  1. Maclean Kwofi – Daily Graphic (Reporter of the Year – Print News)
  2. Portia Gabor – TV3 (Journalist of the Year, TV News Reporter of the Year and Health Reporter of the year)
  3. Ridwan D. Osman – EIB Network (Reporter of the Year- Radio News)
  4. Emmanuel Bonney – Graphic Online (Reporter of the Year – Online News)
  5. Peggy A. Donkor – GBC (Reporter of the Year – Features – TV)
  6. Mavis Offei – GBC (Reporter of the Year – Features – Radio)
  7. Albert Oppong Ansah – Ghana News Agency (Reporter of the Year – Features – Online)
  8. Solomon Joojo Cobinnah – Joy News (Reporter of the Year – Documentary – TV)
  9. Juliet Bawuah – TV3 (Reporter of the Year- Sports)
  10. Joseph Armstrong Allorgbey – TV3 (Reporter of the Year – Education)
  11. Francisca Enchil – Joy Prime / Freelance (Female Journalist of the Year)
  12. Geoffrey Buta – Ghanaian Times (Photojournalist of the Year)
  13. Daryl Kwawu – Joy News (Reporter of the Year – Business and Economics)
  14. Godwin Asediba – GH One TV (Reporter of the Year – Environment and Science)
  15. Richard Kwadwo Nyarko – Joy News (Reporter of the Year – Agriculture)
  16. Seth J. Bokpe – The Fourth Estate (Reporter of the Year – Democracy and Good Governance)
  17. Benedicta A. Gyimah – Ghanaian Times (Reporter of the Year – Gender)
  18. Alfred Amoh – Adom TV (Reporter of the Year – Disability)
  19. Beatrice Senadju – GBC (Reporter of the Year – Tourism)
  20. Kester Aburam Korankye – Daily Graphic (Reporter of the Year –Road Safety)
  21. Emmanuel Koranteng – Joy News (GJA/Komla Dumor Most Promising Journalist of the Year)
  22. Negbe Nhyehe – Obonu TV (Best TV/Radio Programme in Ga
  23. Newsfile – Joy FM (Best TV Programme in English)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles